Recap Aug 27

Howdie!  I know it’s been almost a month since I posted.  I hate to say it, but I will be so glad when this wedding planning stress is done and over with.  5.5 more weeks to go till the big day!  I still feel like there is so much left to do and not enough time.  I know I will get everything done, it just doesn’t feel like it right now.

Let’s get to the swatches from the past 3 weeks, shall we?

August 9 – Sindie Pop On the 5th Day
IMG_20140809_104138

This is 2 coats of On The 5th Day.  This was a “not sure I’m going to like it’ polish in the bottle for me when I got this collection, but when I put it on, wow!  This is a really pretty, subtle glitter polish.  It is a white base with teal, yellow-gold, and white-silver glitters in it.  I know this is a Christmas/winter polish, but there is something about this that makes me thing of rubber duckies.. anyone else?  No, just me?  Hmm..  It’s a cute polish, and if you are looking for something different, I really recommend this one 🙂

August 11 – Ruby White Tips Kim
IMG_20140811_213613

This is 3 coats of Kim over bare nail.  This is a really gorgeous neutral pink-ish sand with a hint of scattered holo glitters.  This is a perfect polish for a “pallet cleanser” or if you need something super neutral for work or an interview.  The scattered holo gives it a little sparkle, but not enough to cause distractions.  Ruby White Tips can be purchased through the online store, and make sure to follow them on Facebook for all their updates!

August 12 – Sindie Pop The Mean One
IMG_20140812_174614

This is 2 coats of The Mean One.  I really like this polish, but I think it’s my least favourite of the 4 in the collection.  It is a mix of different green glitters in different size, all in a white base.  This would be perfect paired as an accent nail with a red creme mani for the Christmas season *note to self*.  All Sindie Pop lacquers can be purchased in her online shop, and make sure to follow her on Facebook and Instagram to keep up to date!  If you are interested in the Sindie Pop polishes, unfortunately she does not ship outside of the US, but if you have a US polish mule (like I do *waves at Amber* 😀 ), make sure to pick some up that way!

August 13 – Ellagee Don’t Take Candy From Strangers
IMG_20140813_180851

This is 3 coats of Don’t Take Candy From Strangers, a black crelly polish packed with a rainbow of tiny bar glitters.  These bar glitters lay flat and don’t drive me insane when I have this kind of polish on.  It was hard to get a picture of this because the glitters like to hide in the base, but in person they are very evident 🙂

August 14 – Ellagee Perfection in Sugar Confection
IMG_20140814_185046

This is 3 coats of Perfection in Sugar Confection, a light pink base filled with a rainbow of tiny bar glitters and micro glitters.  These polishes are really fun, and I really recommend picking some up if you can!  I know a lot of people don’t like bar glitter, but honestly, these are not the irritating kind of bar glitter polishes.  They lay nice and flat!

August 17 – Polished by KPT Nostalgia
IMG_20140817_171538

This is 3 coats of Nostalgia.  This is a fun polish!  Not only is it a thermal (warm on index and middle fingers, cold on ring and pinky fingers), but this is a “chameleon” polish.  It changes colour depending on the lighting you are in.  In the lighting for the picture – daylight through a window – you can see that it looks purple-ish with a flash of pink.  But in other lighting it looks more taupe with the same pink flash, but also shifts with more brown or more grey depending on how bright or low the lighting is.  This was a polish I watched all day, it was so hard to not be mesmerized by it.  I have discovered, though, that thermals don’t really work well in the summer, unless you have a “warm activated” thermal.  Most thermals change colour when your hands are cold, but in the summer your body temperature is usually higher due to outside temperature.  This means that it doesn’t change as often or as drastically compared to if it were winter time.  Just my own observation 🙂  Polished by KPT polishes can be purchased through the online shop, and make sure to follow along on Facebook and Instagram for the latest!

August 19 – Ellagee Hear Me Roar
IMG_20140819_084504
This is 2 coats of Hear Me Roar.  This is a perfect red holo polish.  The application was smooth and easy to work with.  I think this is one of my favourite holos in my collection.

August 20 – Ellagee Unreleased Prototype
IMG_20140820_192437

This is 2 coats of “Unreleased Prototype”.  I received this polish in the Easter Mystery Boxes that Laura sold in mid-March (I think..), where there was a chance to get an unreleased prototype polish as one of the 5 mini polishes in the box.  YAY ME!!  Haha!  This is a really stunning polish.  Laura, if you are reading this, you should release this baby!  It is a navy blue with slight green and purple shimmer throughout.  It has a touch more green to it in person.  Beautiful!  Ellagee polishes can be purchased in the online shop, and make sure to keep up with the buzz by following her on Facebook and Instagram!  Unfortunately THIS particular polish is not available, but there are a lot of other great choices available in her shop 😀

August 21 – Indie Polish Finding Dory
IMG_20140821_173929

This is 1 coat of Finding Dory over Julep Parker.  Now, I am a Finding Nemo fan, so as soon as I spied this and “Finding Nemo” in Indie Polish’s online shop, I had to have them!  It’s been over a year since I bought them and this is the first time I am busting them out and onto the nail.  Shame on me!  Anyways, this is a mix of blue and yellow micro glitters in a clear base.  This polish is VERY similar to the Original Floam polish, originally released by Nailventerous, who then passed on the recipe to Ninja Polish.  Unfortunately Ninja Polish is no longer around, so if you are looking for Floam, definitely check out Indie Polish Finding Dory.  I wish I still had my Floam so that I could do a comparison picture.  Indie Polish polishes can be purchased in her online shop, and make sure to follow along on Facebook!

August 22 – Gel II Neon Pink
IMG_20140822_122844

I know, I know, this is not an indie polish for #AugustIsIndieMonth, but I was going to the cottage this past weekend and I wanted something that would stand up to the wear and tear that is cottage living.  This is 3 coats of Neon Pink, and I have to say, I’m disappointed in this one.  As you can see, this is still pretty sheer even after 3 coats and top coat.  You can still see my poor yellow-stained nails and visible nail line through the polish.  I think if I had a white gel polish to put under this colour it would look better because it would be opaque.  I really like the gels because they do hold up against most lifestyles.  The only downside is that you can’t easily change your polish as often as with regular polish.  Gel II polishes can be purchased through their online “store”, and they also have a list of distributors you can check out.  Make sure to follow on Facebook and Instagram for the latest updates!

August 26 – Elixir Lacquers Wynter Wonders
IMG_20140826_180931
This is 1 coat of Wynder Wonders over Julep Octavia.  I LOVE this topper!  It has a micro holo glitter in a clear base, like China Glaze Fairy Dust, with pale lilac hexes and silver holo squares.  The larger glitters were a little tricky to get out, but this polish has been sitting, unshaken, in my melmer since I moved to the new house in May 2013, so … yeah.  Unfortunately, Elixir Lacquers is no longer selling polishes, but you can follow Nicole on her blog, Facebook and Instagram through her blog name “Nail Polish Wars”.

There, all caught up, again 😀  Hopefully you guys are enjoying #AugustIsIndieMonth!  It’s a good feeling to give some love to the smaller indie polish makers out there!

2 thoughts on “Recap Aug 27

Leave a Reply

