Recap Jul 30

I’m still here!  It’s been a busy couple weeks, so I apologize for not posting the last few Fridays.  I figure I better post during the week cause it’s been so long!  With less than 70 days till the wedding (EEK!!), there is starting to be more and more stress factors for me.  I feel like there is so much that still needs to be done, but that I can’t do them yet.

Let’s get right to it, shall we?

Polished by KPT – Color Me Purple

IMG_20140708_212231

This was a polish I got from Amber in the last box of goodies she sent me.  She’s my “US Mule” for when I don’t want to pay an obscene amount of money for shipping to Canada.  She loves me so much that she lets me have everything sent to her and then ships it all out when I have a box-ful of stuff for a more reasonable rate than paying for them all to be individually sent to me.  She surprised me with this one though!  Color Me Purple is a gorgeous lavender-to-amethyst purple colour changing thermal polish.  It is lavender when the polish is warm, and amethyst when the polish is cold.  The picture shows it more pinkish than it is in real life.  It was a hard one to get a picture of!  This is my new favourite thermal polish.  I don’t own a lot, but this one really hits it out the park for me!  You can purchase Polished by KPT on their online shop, and make sure to follow them on Facebook and Instagram!

China Glaze – Seahorsin’ Around

IMG_20140711_153459

If you’ve been around for a while, you’ll know that I love me some textures!  When China Glaze brought out the Sea Goddess texture collection in the spring, I jumped on it like a seagull on a french fry!  Seahorsin’ Aroung only needed 2 coats (well, technically it only needed one, but I did 2 out of habit) to be fully opaque.  I saw Cris at Let Them Have Polish note that this polish stained for her, so I made sure to use a base coat with this one.  I still got a little bit of staining, but nothing too severe.  They do recommend that you use no top coat and no base coat with texture polishes, but for this I would recommend using a base coat for sure!  The colour of this, and the sheen, is perfect!  It’s like a mermaid tail on your nails 😀  I say “sheen” because it’s not so much sparkly as it is iridescent with a hint of sparkle, which I like because it’s different than all the other textures out there.  China Glaze really hit the nail on the head with this texture collection, which is more than I can say for what I have seen in their other textures.  I do not have any of their “older” textures, but I know these are the best I have seen so far 😀

Essie – In Stitches

IMG_20140712_114818

This polish came from Amber as well, but for my birthday in 2013!  I have worn it before as a pedi, so no swatch pictures.  I really like this polish!  I wore it for the day we took Lexi in to get the stitches out of her feet from her dew claw removal.  She did so well, she didn’t have to be sedated, so I was one happy momma!  This was 2 easy coats, and while my cuticles look like a mess it’s cause I didn’t take the time to 100% clean up so I apologize to anyone who is bothered by it.  I don’t always have time to clean up.  As with most Essies, the formula was on the slightly thin side, so it does pool a little if you aren’t careful.

Essie – The More The Merrier

IMG_20140713_172859

This is another Essie polish from the Nautical collection.  This is the only one in the collection of 6 polishes that does not have a shimmer to it.  I believe I used 3 coats for this (I really should start writing this stuff down!).  I love colours like this because it’s so different from “normal” polish colours and really stands out in a collection.  I do kind of wish that it had a shimmer to it like the rest of the collection though.

Funky Fingers – Glitter Matters

IMG_20140713_175820

I topped Essie The More The Merrier with one coat Funky Fingers Glitter Matters because I thought the colour combination of the glitter suited the unique-ness of The More The Merrier.  Funky Fingers are normally found in Five Below stores in the US, but because I have never seen them here in Canada, I had my friend Amber pick this and 2 others in the collection up for me and ship them in my next box.  The formula of this polish was great and glitter distribution was nice and even.  I hate bald spots when you apply some glitters, or when you can’t get them to stick in one spot on the nail.  This polish is full of medium yellow, white and pink hexes, and small yellow and pink hexes.

China Glaze – Spontaneous

IMG_20140715_202206

China Glaze Spontaneous has been on my wishlist for a while, so Amber decided to pick it up and include it in my birthday box this year.  I love me some purple!!  This is a perfect medium purple creme polish.  There’s nothing fancy about it, but if you are a purple person you should definitely have this in your collection.  I applied 2 easy coats to get full opacity.

Picture Polish – Frosting

IMG_20140718_170504

Mmmmmm .. cupcakes … This is such a delicious looking polish!  This is 2 coats of Picture Polish Frosting over bare nails.  I’d just like to note that as beautiful as this polish is – super pale pink base with purple, fuchsia (seriously, WHO invented that word!!), and white hexes with holo heart glitters – it’s a little tricky to work with because it’s SO jam-packed with glitter.  The polish is chuck-full of heart glitters, so they aren’t something you will have to fish for.  If it’s possible there are “too many” and they are what make the polish a little tricky to work with.  That’s my only gripe with this one.  Otherwise, it’s stunning on the nail and it will be in my collection forever!

Julep – Tegan

IMG_20140720_205619

This is the latest Stardust polish from Julep.  It is a rust-red texture polish with a silver-ish shimmer to it.  Again, I love textures, so this one was a hit with me.  The only thing I noticed is it was rustier-coloured than I was expecting, but that’s usually the way when looking at Julep swatches.  I got this in my July box, which took what seemed like FOREVER to get to me.  I got my normal shipping notice on the 28th of June, which is pretty average, but tracking never updated.  Two weeks later, when I would normally have my package, I finally messaged Julep through Facebook about it and they said that the tracking should update soon.  The next day it updated to say that the parcel had been logged into the system and had JUST been shipped.  *cue screeching record sound*  Say what?!  I know .. I sent them an email stating that this was completely unacceptable, and while all Mavens received the “parcels are going to take longer than expected this month, here is 100 Jules for your troubles” email, a two week delay was uncalled for.  I got an email back stating that because I’m in Canada it can take 1-3 weeks for me to receive my parcel (which I know, I’ve ordered enough stuff through Julep and other US e-tailers), and there was nothing they could do at that point.  That’s fine and dandy, but my question was why did it take so long to leave the warehouse in the first place??  .. I love being a Maven and I love receiving my monthly box so I will still stay on as a Maven for now, but the crap Julep has been pulling lately is really making me consider breaking ties.  Hopefully over the next 2-3 months everything straightens out and it will be “back to normal”.  Otherwise, I’m not sure what I will do…  At this point, I would definitely not recommend the Maven program to anyone… *end rant*

Zoya – Stevie

IMG_20140721_174538

Ahhh, another texture 😀  I think Zoya Pixie Dusts and the Julie G Gumdrop textures are my favourite of all the textures out there.  Stevie is a perfect light purple with a silver shimmer throughout, and that typical Pixie Dust texture to leave you petting your nails all day .. I can’t be the only one .. right?!  This is 2 coats of Stevie over bare nails (no base coat).

NCLA – Boullion In A Bottle

IMG_20140725_141108

I got this polish in my Wantable box back before Christmas.  I was on the fence about this one, so I put off using it, then my “Polish Roulette” code I have on my Polish Stash spreadsheet (yes, I’m that person) selected it so I decided “what the heck!” and put it on.  I was pleasantly surprised how much I like this polish.  It is a gold foil base chuck-full of metallic glitters in every colour of the rainbow.  They aren’t “bold” colours though – whether it’s because of the gold base, I’m not sure, but they appear to be more muted.  This will be a great polish for a New Year’s Eve mani 😀

French Tips for Engagement Photos

IMG_20140727_122004
Tyler and I went and got our engagement photos done on Sunday of this past weekend.  I was himming and hawing about what to put on my nails – something neutral?  Something to match my outfit?  Something classic?  I was talking to Amber about it and she suggested either neutral or French Tips.  I opted for French Tips, but I added a little oomph to them 😀  I started with Jordana White (no base coat, no base colour) and some straight-line nail vinyls to create the tips.  Some of them I had to re-apply the vinyl and do a second coat to straighten out the lines.  Then I topped it off with China Glaze Fairy Dust, cause Fairy Dust makes everything better 😀

Revlon – Scandalous
IMG_20140729_181605

And now we’re all caught up!  My current NOTD is Revlon Scandalous.  This has been sitting in my drawer since last spring when I got this polish in the Canadian Travelling Polish box.  I pulled this one because I love purple, and I had seen some talk in the polish groups about it and decided to give it a whirl.  A year and a half later, here we are!  And you know what??  I LOVE IT!!  It’s a gorgeous black jelly base with medium and tiny purple hex glitters.  This is only 2 coats to get to full opacity, which surprised me when I saw how thin the first coat was applying.  This will be another polish that stays in my collection forever, I can’t stop looking at these!

I haven’t been doing pedis every week, though I painted my toes with Aly’s Dream Polish Bohemian Raspberry 3 weeks ago, and Julep Edith this past weekend.  Both are great pinks for toes 😀  For some reason, my bottle of Edith is super gritty, there are chunks sticking to the brush when I polish – it’s so weird!  I will try to do a mani with it soon to see if it happens again.

2 thoughts on “Recap Jul 30

Leave a Reply

