For the Past Two Weeks…

Morning!  *checks the clock* Yep, still morning 😉  I hope everyone has been surviving the last couple weeks.  Sorry I didn’t get a post up last week for a round up of my manis.  I had started this post on Friday, and then all of a sudden it’s already almost lunch time on Sunday – what happened?!?!  I have been working on nails every day, as you can tell by following my Instagram 😉  Let’s get to the round up!

As you know, I have been following along with Tina’s Month of Julep challenge, and you can find all the information on her bog, here.  I’ll be recapping for last week and this week 🙂

Saturday, June 7 – Light Purple – Julep Kimberly
IMG_20140607_105358

This is one of the Speckle polishes that Julep offered in the Speckle Mystery Boxes in April (I think).  They had this one and Emerson, which was a light blue.  They also offered Felicia, a mint green, as an add-on for the April Maven Box.  If you’ve been following for a while, you know that purple is my favourite colour so I obviously opted for the Mystery Box with Kimberly 😉  This is 2 coats of Kimberly and it’s perfect!  I really love the look of this polish, and I actually ordered Emerson in the warehouse sale Julep had last week because I wanted more 😀

Sunday, June 8 – Dark Green – Julep Laura
IMG_20140608_151748

This is another polish that I saved out of my sale pile.  Laura is a perfect army green creme polish that is opaque in 1 coat, but I did 2 coats out of habit.  I was really surprised by this one.  I wasn’t sure I would like it but it’s actually really interesting to wear.  It is a little dark, but would be perfect for fall, or with a matte top coat.

Monday, June 9 – Chrome Pink – Julep Lois
IMG_20140610_193312

Julep Lois was saved from the sale pile too, but I think she might go back there.  I’m really not a fan of this one.  The first coat was pretty sheer and I can’t remember if i did 2 coats or 3 for the final look.  This is more pink in real life than it looks in the picture, but it was pretty “blech” for me.

Tuesday, June 10 – Metallic Read – Julep America
IMG_20140610_193622

I didn’t have a metallic red Julep polish, so I went with Julep America because it’s red, and has metallic glitters.  This has shown its face frequently in the last few Mystery Boxes, so there is an abundance of them out there if you want one.  This is a red-tinted base with fine red glitters, small blue and silver hexes and silver stars.  The stars are a little tricky to get out of the bottle and onto the nail, but there is something about this that is really festive for any American holiday 🙂  This is 2 coats to get full opacity of America, but you could layer this over a base colour if you wanted.

Wednesday, June 11 – Light Blue – Julep Jeanne
IMG_20140611_173406
I really LOVE Jeanne!  She came in the May Maven box, and she’s stunning!  If you don’t own a light blue polish, you need this one!  She’s bright, but not offensively so, like a neon.  The application was flawless, and 2 coats gets you perfect opacity.  I can’t say enough about this one, I highly recommend it if you are looking for something different.

Thursday, June 12 – Orange – Julep Mariska
IMG_20140612_112012
Mariska is a really unique polish.  She is a gorgeous bright orange “creme” that dries to a rubber finish without a top coat.  There is just something so special about this one.  I have been waiting to try this one, and “orange day” pushed me to do it, and I’m glad I did.  This is 2 easy coats of Mariska.  You can sorta see the visible nail line, so you could add a third coat if you wanted, but it didn’t really bother me.

Friday, June 13 – Silver – didn’t do 😦
I don’t have an untried silver Julep polish, so I skipped silver day.  Who else is superstitious of Friday the 13th?!  *raises hand*  And to boot, it was a full moon, so I was fully prepared for full-on-crazy people at work.  I don’t normally work on Fridays, but my parents were away camping for the week so I worked in the office by myself.  I made it through the day unscathed 🙂

Saturday, June 14 – Light Pink – Ramona
IMG_20140614_090517

Julep Ramona is another perfect polish from the May box.  Considering I wasn’t over thrilled with these colours when I first saw pictures on my phone, it’s batting a pretty good average in my books 😀  It took 2 coats to get this fully opaque, and it’s a perfect light-light pink.  It’s almost white, but pink enough in person that it doesn’t look white.  This is definitely a favourite for me.

Sunday, June 15 – Chrome Blue – didn’t do 😦
I don’t have an untried blue chrome Julep polish, so I didn’t do the colour for this day.

Monday, June 16 – Light Green – Julep Shannon
IMG_20140616_120949

Julep Shannon was offered up in one of the three Saint Patrick’s Day Mystery Boxes.  I *had* to get this Mystery Box because Shannon is my middle sister’s name.  This is one of Julep’s silk finish polishes.  It has a beautiful silky finish if you do not apply a top coat.  I have to say, this one surprised me too.  I wasn’t too sure if I would like it based on Julep’s swatches (surprise, surprise) but when I got it I definitely did like it 🙂  This is 2 coats without a top coat.

Tuesday, June 17 – Dark Purple – Julep Flora
IMG_20140617_140344

This is 2 GORGEOUS coats of Julep Flora.  I’m sorry about the glare.  I couldn’t get the blue shimmer to show without the flash, and this picture shows the polish colour pretty accurately as well.  Whelp, I have to say this is probably a new favourite purple for me!  It’s STUNNING!!  And the blue shimmer is definitely prominent in the polish, nothing like Julep Bunny was *glare*  This polish was really easy to work with, no issues with application.

Wednesday, June 18 – Teal – Julep Jennine
IMG_20140618_115315
This is 2 super easy coats of Julep Jennine, without top coat.  I wasn’t a fan of any of the June colours from Julep, so I jumped on with Amber from Timeless Topcoats to get Jennine as an add-on.  I LOVE texture polishes.  I didn’t think I would because I have always thought that a smooth, glossy nail was something that was always to be sought after, but once I tried the Julie G textures, I couldn’t get enough!  The new Stardust textures from Julep are so unique, so I feel like I will be collecting them all 😀

Thursday, June 19 – Lavender – Julep Paulette
IMG_20140619_075138

This is 2 super easy coats of Paulette.  Now, I have seen some posts floating around the polish community, mostly in Facebook groups, that the formula of Paulette that some people have is really thick and goopy.  I didn’t experience this with my bottle, so I would say that if you have a bottle of Paulette and it’s goopy, you should definitely contact Julep.  Julep describes this polish as a lilac purple, and I decided that since I don’t have an untried lavender, lilacs are flowers too (and one of my favourites) so this would be close enough 😉  The gold shimmer in this is stunning, similar to that of the one in Laree.  It didn’t photograph well, but you can see it in the bottle in the picture.

Friday, June 20 – Chrome Green – Julep Kendra
IMG_20140620_133908

Kendra was another “rescue” polish, saved from the sale pile.  I wasn’t too sure about this colour, and I never used it, so it ended up in the sale pile, but I have to say, I’m glad I saved her!  What a stunning polish!  This came in the October 2013 box, if I remember right.  While it’s not really a chrome, per se, the shimmer in it is beautiful.  It does show brush strokes a little, so that’s what makes me classify it as a “chrome”.  If you are looking for a shimmery dark green, Kendra is your girl!  The only downside to this polish is that it does almost look black in low/indoor lighting.  I painted my nails at night and still wasn’t too sure of it until I got it in the sunlight the next day.

And that’s it.  I will post yesterday and today’s mani in the next post (fingers crossed for Friday), but you can always follow me on Instagram to keep up to date 😀  There is no pedi picture this week.  I did my toenails with Flora because I loved it so much, so I thought I would leave the toes off the blog till next time 🙂

I’m off to my first wedding shower in a couple hours, so I hope you all have a great rest of your weekend, and I will (hopefully) see you Friday!

Leave a Reply

