Back in the Saddle

Alright guys, here’s the plan.  Because I don’t usually work Fridays, I’m going to make sure I post on Fridays, ALWAYS.  If I don’t post, come find me!
I have also decided to dedicate Fridays to pedicures.  It’s sandal season after all, and I want my little piggy toes to get the love they deserve.  I will be posting pedi pictures each week, but I will post them at the end so you don’t have to look at them if you don’t want to 🙂

So, let’s catch up, shall we??

I have been diligently posting mani pictures, mostly swatches, on my Instagram for the past few months.  Make sure to head on over if you have an Instagram account and follow me so you can keep up-to-date.  I will use the blog to recap the manis of the week.
Tina, one of the girls in the Canada Cosmetic swap group on Facebook decided to do an entire month of using only untried Julep polishes, and I thought “hey, why not?”  I looked through my list of untrieds (OMG!) and discovered that I have more than enough Julep polishes to last the entire month, so I decided to join in.  If you want to join in, you can find her info post here.  She’s going a little more in-depth than I am, I’m just using polishes where as she is using only Julep products as well.

Here’s what I have done so far:

Sunday, June 1 – Red Creme – Julep Jackie
IMG_20140601_195554I saved this polish from my destash pile.  I have been thinking about reinstating some polishes from my “to be swapped/sold pile”, and this challenge has enticed me to do so.  Jackie was released in April 2013 with the Brights collection.  A lot of those polishes were known to stain, so while I loved them all, I ended up putting all of them in my destash pile.  This is a great true-red almost-jelly-like polish.

Monday, June 2 – Dark Blue – Julep Iona
IMG_20140602_173541Okay, okay, I know this is not blue, but I didn’t have a dark blue untried Julep polish… until the next day when one that I bought off another girl from the Canadian swap group came in the mail.  I knew that would happen!  Iona is a really perfect dusty-ish indigo polish.  Almost a one-coater, but I did two just out of habit.

Tuesday, June 3 – Chartreuse – OPI Who the Shrek Are You?
IMG_20140603_101816I know.. NOT a Julep, but again, I didn’t have a Chartreuse Julep polish and I figured this was a perfect excuse to use Who the Shrek Are You?.  I finally completed my full-size OPI Shrek collection when Amber from Timeless Topcoats sent me the Holy Grail of Shrek polishes, What’s With the Cattitude?, for my birthday back in April.  Who The Shrek Are You? is three kind of watery coats, but it builds to perfect opacity.  I know a lot of people are turned off by this kind of colour, and to make it into a nail colour is even more off-the-wall, but I kind of like it.  I did top it with a matte top coat (not photoed) and it made it even better!

Wednesday, June 4 – Skittles – None
Julep LareeI didn’t do Wednesday’s prompt.  I know, bad llama.  I was going to, but ran out of time.  I did paint my nails with Julep Laree though, and WOW!  It is STUNNING.  Two easy coats is all it takes and the gold shimmer in the coral colour is absolutely perfect!

Thursday, June 5 – Black and White – Julep Nicolette and Brandt
IMG_20140604_202917IMG_20140605_180446Nicolette is my favourite white polish.  I only just got her a little while ago, maybe a couple months ago.  She goes on super smooth in two coats.  I DID put a layer of Essie Matte About You matte top coat between coats to ensure a smooth finish, but I don’t think it would have been necessary.  I then stamped over Nicolette with Brandt, from the Trina Turk collection in September 2012, and Bundle Monster stamping plate BM-321.  The design was inspired by this post from Ashlee at Painted Nubbs because she said that this design was “unusable”.  So I thought “self, we are gonna use that plate next time we stamp”, so I did 😀

Friday, June 6 – Brown – Julep Mystery Brown
IMG_20140606_080850This is another polish I have had for a while – since Fall 2012.  This is two great coats of Mystery Brown, a perfect milk-chocolatey brown polish.  I think this colour would suit most skin tones because it’s pretty neutral.  It’s not quite as dark as it shows in the picture.  The first coat is a little watery, but the second coat evens everything out.

And that rounds up the manis of the week.  I really love being told what polish to wear, it makes my indecisiveness virtually disappear.  A pedi picture will follow, so if you don’t like feet, please stop reading/scrolling riiiiiiiiiight NOW!


My thought to do pedis on Fridays started only last week.  I thought “self, you have the WHOLE day to walk around with spacers in your toes with no one around to make fun of you.  Let’s do a pedi every week to make sure your toes are always purdy!”

Today, I decided on Orly Beach Cruiser, a perfect neon pink polish that does not require a white base.  This is two coats with top coat.  I don’t normally like doing top coats on my toes because it’s easier for me to remove the polish when it’s time to take it off.  It is WAY brighter and more highlighter-ish in person, I definitely recommend it if you are on the hunt for that perfect neon pink polish.
Orly Beach Cruiser Toes

2 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle

    • You NEEEEEEEEED it 😀 It’s a one-of-a-kind in my collection 😀
      Honestly, at first, I wasn’t wowed by that collection from Julep (May box) but when I looked at swatches on an actual computer screen I upgraded to the full polish collection with NO regrets 😀

Leave a Reply

